These compassionate activity-beings of the buddha-families are 8 in number.  They can be thought of as "occupying" the intermediate directions of space, if we consider the transcendent buddhas who head the five Buddha Families as situated at the cardinal points of a mandala.  There are three that function as family protectors (Tib. riksum gonpo) who are more prominent, they are: Avalokiteshvara, Vajrapani and Manjushri.

There are at least two different lists, and some variations in "attributes" which in iconography means characteristic implements (or sceptres.) Also, bodhisattvas are considered to be of various degrees of attainment or rank relating to their level (Skt. bhumi) on the 10-step path [some traditions give 13] towards buddhahood.

 Mipham (1846-1912) lists:

Manjushri (Jampelyang) holds a blue utpala flower [like Green Tara's]
Vajrapani (Chana Dorje) - vajra
Avalokiteshvara (Chenresi) - white lotus
Maitreya (Jampa) - naga tree
Kshitigarbha (Sai Nyingpo) - jewel
(Sarva)Nivarana-vishvakambin  - moon
Akashagarbha - [blazing]sword
Samantabhadra (Kuntuzangpo) - sun