7 Seven Branches
Khenpo's Bio
Tara Practice
Guru Rinpoche
Nyala Lineage
ODN Defined Tsok

When we look at this image of Green Tara, and we notice all of the particulars of this image and hold that in our mind, understanding or appreciating as much as we can the details of it and the symbolism involved. This is the image we hold in front of us. In other words, when we engage in the practice of Green Tara it is important to realize that Green Tara through this practice comes into our presence, is actually seated there in the sky above us in such a form.

With that realization of the presence, we then engage in the practice. In particular, we engage in the seven aspects of the worship.

Of the seven aspects of the worship, the first is the bowing down, the obeisance, the giving of honor of body, speech, and mind. So we're bowing down to Green Tara in this form.

The second of the seven is the giving of offerings. We present the offerings, we make the offerings, to Green Tara, understanding her to be there in front of us.

Third is the confession, confessing all of our misdeeds and shortcomings. So we're doing that again to Green Tara, who we understand to be in front of us.

Fourth is the rejoicing in the virtue of all living beings, in particular the enlightened beings who accomplish the sublime virtues. It's the welcoming or active rejoicing in the virtues of others. We do that again with respect to Green Tara .

Fifth is the exhortation. Here we address Green Tara. Principally, we exhort Her to turn the wheel of the Dharma, that is, to bestow upon us and all living beings the sublime teachings of the Dharma.

The sixth aspect of worship is the prayer, or supplication, to Green Tara that she not withdraw her manifestation, but that she remain continually in the world for the benefit of ourselves and all living beings.

The seventh and last aspect of worship is the dedication. Again, we do this in front of, and with respect to, Green Tara, dedicating the meritorious results of all of our Dharma practice -- all of these other aspects, from the obeisance through the supplication. We dedicate the meritorious value to the ultimate enlightenment and liberation of all living beings.

These are the seven aspects of worship. Again, briefly, the first is bowing down, the second is making offerings, the third is confessing sins, the fourth is welcoming or rejoicing in the virtues of others, the fifth is entreating or exhorting the enlightened one to turn the wheel of the Dharma, to bestow the Dharma, the teachings, on us and all other living beings; the sixth is the supplication that the enlightened being remain in the world for the benefit of living beings and not depart the world and enter into a nirvan-like state of peacefulness and withdrawal from the world; and seventh is dedication of the merit.

So these are the seven aspects of worship present in any type of full Dharma practice, or a Dharma practice session.

Return to Osel Dorje Nyingpo Home Page

Go Back to Refuge and Bodhicitta (Previous)

Go Forward to Mandala Offering (Next)