Anăgărika:(a-nah-gah-ri-ka)'homeless one'. An Anăgărika (male), Anăgărikă (female) still is technically a lay person, lives in a monastery and follows the Eight Precepts.

Ajahn: teacher, from the Păli ăcăriya. 'Achan' is sometimes used.

Ănăpănasati:(ah-nah-pah-na-sa-ti)a widely used meditation technique: one composes the mind by focussing attention on the inhalation and exhalation of breath.

Anatta:(a-nat-tah) impersonal, ‘not?self', without individual essence; one of the three characteristics of all worldly phenomena, according to the Buddha.

Aniccă: (a-nic-cah)impermanent, transitory; one of the three characteristics of all worldly phenomena, according to the Buddha

Arahant an enlightened being, free from all delusion. In Buddhist tradition, it is the last of the four stages of the realisation of liberation.

Bhikkhu : Buddhist monk(s).

Bhikkhu alms mendicant; the term for a monk, who lives on alms and abides by training precepts which define a life of renunciation and simplicity.

Bodhisattva (Sanskrit) A term from Mahayana Buddhism, referring to one who 'delays complete enlightenment' for the sake of helping other beings reach enlightenment first.

Dăna: (daa-na) generosity; hence, often used to refer to an offering, especially of food, to a monastic community.

Dhamma: this word is used in several ways. It can refer to the Buddha's Teachings as contained in the scriptures; to the Ultimate Truth, to which the Teachings point; and to a discrete 'moment' of life, seen as it really is.

Dhutanga:(Thai: tudong) special strict monastic observances. Dhutanga bhikkhus are noted for their diligence and impeccability. In Thailand, such monks often undertake the mendicant's wandering practice of the Buddha's time - hence the phrase, 'to wander (or 'go') tudong'.

Dukkha: imperfect, unsatisfying, 'hard to bear'; one of the three characteristics of all worldly phenomena, according to the Buddha.

Jongrom: (a Thai word derived from cankama from Pali, the scriptural language) means pacing to and fro on a straight path.

Kamma: action or cause which is created or recreated by habitual impulse, volitions, or natural energies. In popular usage, it often includes the sense of the result or effect of the action, although the proper term for this is vipaka. (In Sanskrit: karma).

Kuti (Pali, Thai) hut; typical abode of a forest monastery bhikkhu.

Luang Por: Venerable Father, a title used to address older monks.

Mettă:(met-tah) loving-kindness, goodwill, friendliness.

Mudită:(mu-di-taa) happiness at another's good fortune; 'sympathetic joy'.

Nibbăna:(nib-bah-na) freedom from attachments. The basis for the enlightened vision of things as they are. (Sanskrit: 'Nirvăna'.)

Observance Day:
a sacred day or 'sabbath', occurring every lunar fortnight. On this day, Buddhists re-affirm their Dhamma practice in terms of precepts and meditation.
(In Pali, Uposatha.)

Panńńă:(pan-nyah) discriminative wisdom.

Pindapăda:(bin-da-bah-da) (Thai: pindabaht) alms food; or the alms round on which the food is received.

Samana: one who has entered the Holy Life; a religious; originally, a religious recluse or wanderer.

Samanera:novice monk(s) Whereas a bhikkhu is a fully ordained monk who follows 227 precepts, a samanera is a 10 precept novice (who nevertheless wears the same ochre?coloured robes as the bhikkhus). In Thailand, the samanera stage is often reserved for those too young for full ordination.

Samsăra:(sang-sah-ra)the unenlightened, unsatisfactory experience of life; the world as conditioned by ignorance.

Sankhăra: conditions, i.e. the sum of the properties making up existence.

: the community of those who practise the Buddha's Way. More specifically, those who have formally committed themselves to the lifestyle of a mendicant monk or nun.

Sila: virtuous conduct of body and speech. Sila is also known as 'Precepts'.

ără: Ten Precept nun(s), an order of nuns at Amaravati and Cittaviveka.

Simă:a bounded area, within which official Sangha acts may take place. The main use of a sima is for upasampada, the ceremony of acceptance into the Bhikkhu?Sangha ('ordination').

Sotăpanna: the first of the four stages of the realisation of liberation.

Tanhă: desire, craving.

The Buddha or Samma-Sambodhi: 'Perfect Enlightenment', Universal Buddha hood, is the state attained by a Universal Buddha (samma-sambuddha), i.e one by whom the liberating Law (dhamma) wich has become lost to the world, is again discovered, realized and clearly proclaimed to the world.

The Four Noble Truths : The Noble Truth of Suffering. The Noble Truth of the Origin of Suffering. The Noble Truth of the Cessation of Suffering. The Noble Truth of The Way Leading to Cessation of Sufferring.

The Triple Gem: the Buddha, the Dhamma and the Sangha.

Tipitaka Literally 'three baskets' - the colections of the Buddhist scriptures, classified according to Sutta (Discourses), Vinaya (Discipline or Training) and Abhidhamma (Meta-physics

Upachăya: a spiritual teacher; preceptor i.e. a bhikkhu of more than ten Rains who has the authority to confer full monastic ordination.

Upasampadă: acceptance into the order of bhikkhus ('ordination'). This must take place within a prescribed boundary, called a sima.

ă: Buddhist Lent, Rains the monsoon-season retreat period. A bhikkhus seniority is determined by the number of 'Rains' he has spent in the Order.

: the monastic code of discipline.

Vibhava-tanhă: desire to get rid of something; annihilationism.

Vihăra: a residence; often used as the name for a small monastery.

Vinaya: the monastic discipline, or the scriptural collection of its rules and commentaries.

Vipăka: the 'effect' or result of kamma (the 'cause' or action).

Wat:(Thai) monastery.

Wat Pah:(Thai) monastery of the Forest Tradition (often a place of dhutanga observance)